Double click here to add textGRADUATED LICENSING PROGRAM
In order to reduce the number of teen fatalities, the Louisiana Legislature authorized the graduated licensing program (GLP). All applicants under age 17 will be licensed utilizing a graduated licensing system. This system will carry a youthful, inexperienced driver through two preliminary stages of special restrictions and limitations before allowing the driver to progress to a permanent license. Driver Education is required before obtaining a learner’s permit.
FIRST-TIME APPLICANTS – 15 and 16 Years of Age – must provide one of the following:
• Certificate of completion of a driver education course consisting of a minimum of thirty (30) hours classroom instruction and eight (8) hours of behind-the-wheel instruction which has been approved by the Department of Public Safety & Corrections. A list of driving schools in your area may be obtained from your local OMV or on the web at www.expresslane.org.
• Official transcript from a Louisiana school which indicates that high school course credit has been earned for a driver's education course
STAGE 1 - Learner's Permit (02 restrictions) Fee: $21.50 (+ service fee up to $4.00, if applicable).
An applicant for a learner’s permit:
• shall be at least 15 years old;
• shall present certificate of completion of an approved 38-hour driver education course, as outlined above.
• hall pass knowledge test and a vision screening;
• shall maintain the learner’s permit for a minimum of 180 days and cannot upgrade to Stage 2 until licensee turns 16 years old;
• shall drive with a licensed parent, guardian, or adult at least 21 years old, or a licensed sibling at least 18 years old or older.
STAGE 2 - Intermediate License (61 restrictions) Fee: $13.00 (+service fee up to $4.00, if applicable).
An applicant for an intermediate license:
• shall be at least 16 years old, have a valid learner’s permit issued at least 180 days prior and complete a minimum of fifty hours of supervised driving practice, at least fifteen of which must be nighttime driving. The supervised practice must be with a parent, guardian or adult at least 21 or older;
• shall pass the road skills test;
• shall not drive between the hours of 11 p.m. and 5 a. m. UNLESS accompanied by a licensed parent, guardian, or adult at least 21 years old or a licensed sibling at least 18 years old or older. Unless accompanied by a licensed adult 21 or older, the teen may not transport more than one passenger under age 21 and who is not an immediate family member, between the hours of 6:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.
Note: An applicant with a previous out-of-state permit or license may begin at the intermediate (61) stage if he meets all other requirements for licensure in Louisiana.
STAGE 3 – Permanent License Fee: $13.00 (+ parish fee up to $4.00, if applicable).
An applicant for a permanent license:
• shall be at least 17 years old and have a valid intermediate license.
• shall not have any at fault accidents during the intermediate stage.
• shall not have had any convictions for moving, seat belt, or curfew violations during the intermediate stage.